Mayor names advisers and committee members | The Enterprise
The Enterprise


Mayor names advisers and committee members

Posted on January 18, 2022

Updated on January 24, 2022

Local newsTop news
Spring Hope Town Hall

Lindell J. Kay | Enterprise

Spring Hope Town Hall | 252-265-8117



SPRING HOPE — Mayor Kyle Pritchard has introduced his board of advisers and committee members to the community.

New Town Commissioner Tony Jefferys will serve as the mayor’s chief engineering adviser and the leader of the infrastructure committee.

Liz Daniel, a marketing manager for a private jet charter company, will serve as communications director and lead the communication committee.

Local pastor Cynthia Crumel will serve as the community adviser and lead the community committee.

Kay Mitchell, a local real estate agent, will serve as the development adviser and lead the development committee.

LeaAnne Hahnel, a business owner, will serve as the travel and tourism adviser and lead the travel and tourism committee.

Jefferys said during the Jan. 10 town board meeting that he accepted the appointment because he feels he has the needed expertise.

“This isn’t me trying to run the show,” Jefferys said.

Commissioner Brent Cone made it clear the committees wouldn’t supplant the town board.

When Pritchard suggested the infrastructure committee take the lead on proposals to install auto flushing valves, Cone took umbrage.

“Nothing will be turned over to the committees,” Cone said.

In her introduction, community committee member Peggy Leggett said the committees were there to advise the board, not replace it.

“We will be the voice of the people,” Leggett said.

Pritchard said the panels’ purpose is to support the town’s existing boards and provide residents a chance to be involved and be heard.

The committees, listed with brief explanations along with members, are as follows:

• The infrastructure committee will plan improvements to water, roads, sidewalks and other systems. Members are Jefferys as chair; James Leggett, Daryl Emig, Gabriel Ingino and Eric Gainey.

• The communication committee will establish open lines of two-way communication. The committee is taking applications for membership.

• The development committee will be responsible for commerce, revitalization, development, growth and protecting the town’s history. Members are Mitchell as chair; Steven Brumfield, Clairse Bissette, Bill Brantley, Jason Walters, Joe Ogg, Aaron Guyton and Deana Guyton.

• The community committee will promote togetherness, service, safety, events and citizen engagement. Members are Crumel, chair; Peggy Leggett, Daniel Taft, Charles Watson, Jonathan Jefferys, Riley Himmelright, Elsa Garcia, Barbara Sullivan, Garrett Quinn and Robin Koricanek.

• The travel and tourism committee will focus on making the town a destination with festivals, events, agritourism and more. Members are Hahnel as chair; Stan Hahnel, Joshua Strickland, Cathy Curtis, Michael Ward, Tracy Shealy, Terry Griffin, Ann Drewry, Georgia Warren and George Barner.

The committees are already taking action, Pritchard said.

He recently wrote on his Facebook page that the development committee presented two ideas for commissioner consideration.

The first idea is for an expanded inspections process for commercial properties based on how they’re used.

The proposed ordinance would give code enforcement officials the ability to go inside a derelict property to catch issues before they cause a building to collapse like the old warehouse on Main Street.

The second suggestion is the proposed introduction of land banking. In simple terms, this is when a town takes control of abandoned and dilapidated properties. Developers are then brought in to turn the structures into new businesses with major renovations.

The development committee also has plans to create marketing and ordinance packets to attract developers to town.

“It truly is amazing what can be accomplished when we work together,” Pritchard said.

Originally, the mayor planned seven committees, but two of them were merged into two other panels. A funding and grants committee was combined with the development committee and a youth, senior and veterans committee was merged with the community committee.

“These mergers were decided by the board of advisers to prevent overlap and streamline operations and efficiency,” Pritchard said.

More than 30 people applied for the committees. Pritchard thanked them for volunteering their time and effort to help the town move forward.

To clarify eligibility for committee service, Pritchard said vested interest in Spring Hope includes individuals who shop, eat, obtain services and spend leisure time in town.

“This includes those that live outside the city limits but come to town routinely for the above listed,” Pritchard said. “For many that live in the surrounding rural landscape, Spring Hope is the town they come to over Nashville or Wilson or Zebulon. Since they regularly support our economy and frequent our community and call Spring Hope home, they have as much vested interest as someone that lives just inside the city limits.”

More Local news

City apartment fire ruled accidental

For The Enterprise
| May 21, 2022

ROCKY MOUNT — The Rocky Mount Fire Department responded to reports of a residential structure fire a...

Fiber optic network coming to Rocky Mount

For The Enterprise
| May 20, 2022

ROCKY MOUNT — Metronet and city officials have announced a partnership that will soon bring ultra-hi...

This map shows where NCDOT will build a roundabout for Benvenue Road, U.S. 64 ramps and Battlepark Lane in Rocky Mount.

Major city road to get roundabout

From staff reports
| May 20, 2022

ROCKY MOUNT — Construction is set to start soon on a roundabout meant to improve the operation and s...

Local News

Powered by Nash & Pine | v4.2.4